Tell me if I’m a bad Person

After having done years of UI design, requirements analysis, content writing, I’ve decided something: I do not like requirements gathering and writing. Much preferred is the creative work at the beginning – user analysis, business analysis, interviewing users, personas, scenarios, UI design, navigation, content models, planning structures.

But when it comes to the nitty gritty “email validation rules” and “auto-numbering schemes” and “what happens if a and b and c happens…” and “what happens if a and b and z happen,” I easily tire. I’ve always known I’m not a details person, that I much prefer the up front creative work and like to hand off to someone to wrap things up.

Does this make me a bad user experience person? Isn’t the devil in the details? Aren’t the details where people get tripped up? Should I be paying more attention, be involved longer?

What do you think?

–Theresa

4 responses to “Tell me if I’m a bad Person

  1. jessicarudzewicz

    ha, reminds me for some strange reason of a Futurama episode, where Bender the robot becomes a god to a civilization who live on his belly while he floats in space, stranded. (I hope Futurama made it overseas, James and Mike!) After trying all sorts of god-like schemes to get his civilization working, Bender fails, and gets some advice from “THE” God, who sends him home.

    *************************************
    God: Bender, being God isn’t easy. If you do too much, people get dependent on you. And if you do nothing, they lose hope. You have to use a light touch, like a safecracker or a pickpocket.

    Bender: Or a guy who burns down a bar for the insurance money.

    God: Yes, if he makes it look like an electrical thing. If you do things right, people won’t be sure you’ve done anything at all.
    *************************************

    Its not the devil thats in the details, its god! 😉
    Its the details that attracted me to this field to begin with actually. So much quiet control 😉

  2. Theresa, you ARE a bad person but I wouldn’t say getting bored by the detail makes you bad at UX. You’re just a BIG IA kind of person, that’s all. Some people just don’t do detail well. Just sell yourself as more of a big ideas / strategic kind of person. Those are the guys that earn the big bucks 😉

  3. hehe. I guess if you do strategic work and that works best for you try and create a niche doing that. Maybe work with others to do the small stuff? Or perhaps its how you divide the work up…starting out on the big ideas and doing the nitty gritty at the end is a sure way to get demotivated at the end of a big project. Try and mix up the big and small…

  4. I was talking with a client the other day and he said that i was much more a concept person and that details drive me crazy. he said that in the future, i should market myself as the concept person. i said yes, i was thinking that too…

Leave a Reply

